A Catty Emery

Cats Everywhere!
So I made my first Emery dress in October of 2014 at a class at Sew-LA and as is my usual habit when taking a class I started work on a second version of the dress to cement what I learned right away. You can see where this is going right? I decided to make the second version of the dress sleeveless as I don’t really like wearing sleeves. So I followed the instructions in the Emery Sew-along on Christine Haynes’ website and reshaped the shoulder; I ended up removing about 1/2″ from the shoulder. The sew-along also said “[t]he armscye will be a bit low for a sleeveless dress, since that is not how it was drafted, so you will want to raise the armscye at the side seam to land a bit higher.” But always find arms to be a bit tight (maybe this is something I need to adjust for, but I have no clue), so I didn’t raise it. I cut the dress out of LizzyHouse Catnap fabric. I made a size 0 with a small bust adjustment.

Sewing the dress together went smoothly until it was time to put in the zipper, then Thanksgiving rolled around. I brought the dress with me to my parents, but I had bought the wrong zipper, D’oh! Then I got busy preparing for Christmas and then it was Christmas, then I picked up some other projects…and this dress just sat in a pile. I rarely ever begin another project when I haven’t finished one, but I guess there was just something about this dress….I finally picked the dress up again and sewed in the zipper (I got the correct type this time) and then it was time to sew the bodice to the lining. I did not follow the suggestion in the sew-along to finish the armscye and neckline with bias binding (because I hadn’t read that far) and instead used Colette’s instructions for how to clean finish an armhole. Geez, was doing that with two layers of thick quilting cotton tough?! That was definitely the most challenging part of the dress and I tried my best to steam all the lumps and bumps flat. After that all I had to do was hand stitch the bodice lining to the dress at the waist and hand stitch the hem the dress. I made my hem a bit deeper than suggested as per the bf’s vote (I folded my hem up a total of about 3″ instead of 2″).

Clean finished the bodice and lining. Needs to be ironed again, a bit lumpy still.

Clean finished the bodice and lining. Needs to be ironed again, a bit lumpy still.

Not a bad zipper insertion

Not a bad zipper insertion

Overall I am pretty happy with the dress although I think I should have shaved some more fabric from around the armscye (I feel like it digs in to the armpit area a bit too much), or maybe there is some other alteration I am supposed to be making? I have no clue. So after about 5 months, my second Emery dress is finally complete!

Perhaps too tight at the armscye? and yes, I do hate having my picture taken

Perhaps too tight at the armscye? and yes, I do hate having my picture taken

Back View

4 thoughts on “A Catty Emery

Leave a Reply

