The Not So Basic Delphine

Tada!

Tada!

Back not bad except for a bit of bunching/pooling when the waist sags

Back not bad except for a bit of bunching/pooling when the waist sags

Cookie!

Cookie!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So I recently said to myself that I should sew more basics as I frequently have a hard time picking outfits since everything I own is either a pattern or a bright color. I have to say that this sewing project is a major fail on that front. While the Delphine skirt from Love at First Stitch would make a great basic skirt, the fabric I chose is anything but basic. I saw this Kayo Horaguchi canvas fabric at the Sew LA birthday party and thought that it would make a cute Delphine. The first time I made this pattern I made a size 0, but it was a bit snug and had to take it out a little at the zipper seam. This time I made the size 2, but this time it was way too big in the waist. Poo. I ended up taking the skirt in 1/2″ on each side at the back seam. The fit turned out pretty good and the fabric is as amazingly crazy as I had anticipated. Now I just need something basic on top to wear with this skirt.

Front

Front

Back

Back

Hand stitched waist

Hand stitched waist

Hand stitched Hem

Hand stitched Hem

 

One thought on “The Not So Basic Delphine

Leave a Reply

