Pattern Testing – The Senna Dress

When Lindsay Woodward put up a blog post looking for people to test the Senna dress I volunteered. I thought the pattern was cute and figured it could be fun. She sent out an email with the pdf pattern and instructions and gave us 10 days to give feedback. I was really excited and printed my pattern, assembled it, cut it out, cut out my fabric and started sewing that day.  I couldn’t finish however because the pattern calls for elastic thread, which I did not have. I did end up running to Jo-Ann’s the next day to get some and they did not have a lot of selection.

Body did I have trouble with the elastic thread. I just could not get it to gather the fabric at all. I re-sewed with a longer stitch length, fiddled with tension, steamed the seams with my iron and even tried drying, but no matter what the seams would not shrink up. They do look a bit gathered when my skirt is flat, but once it is on they straighten right up. Lindsay did send out instructions/helpful tips for working with the elastic thread that would have helped me if I hadn’t rushed to sew the pattern right away.

No gathering to be seen

No gathering to be seen

I also picked the wrong fabric. The jersey I picked felt pretty heavy, but when I tried on my dress, the skirt was like a second skin; whoops. The top also came out a bit loose, but I knew it would. My bust is smaller than the smallest size for the pattern, but I figured if I was testing I didn’t really want to make any changes; plus it’s knit so it doesn’t really matter that much. If I was to make this pattern again, I would choose a heavier weight fabric and take in the top a smidge. For now I think I am going to take the skirt off the dress and turn the top into the crop top variation from the pattern.

Overall I think the pattern is cute and I think I will make another one once the pattern is officially released.

A bit big in the top....a bit tight in the bottom

A bit big in the top….a bit tight in the bottom

Very tight across the bum...whoops, bad fabric choice

Very tight across the bum…whoops, bad fabric choice

One thought on “Pattern Testing – The Senna Dress

  1. Pingback: Senna Dress – Tester Round-Up #2 | Design By Lindsay

Leave a Reply

