Unselfish Sewing

This last week I have been busy doing some unselfish sewing. I have been sewing a few baby items (not for me), including blankets, bibs, and burp cloths.  My sister and sister-in-law happen (well happened) to be pregnant at the same time and as it turns out they are both having (had) boys. My sister-in-law’s due date is in September and my sister’s due date is in November, so I figured I had plenty of time to get sewing. Well, I was wrong. My sister-in-law had her baby a month early, so I had to hurry up and start sewing. Luckily when I found out the babies’ genders I did some fabric shopping. I have to admit that there seemed to be a lot more girl appropriate fabrics that I liked than boy fabrics; but there were in fact lots of cute boy fabrics to choose from. I ended up buying Japanese double gauze, some cute printed quilting cotton and some terry. I made swaddling blankets out of the double gauze (I bought enough fabric to make 2 for each baby). Then I made bibs and burp cloths out of the quilting cotton and terry. I even had some leftover polar bear double gauze to make some extra bibs. I have some more baby sewing to do, but I think I have enough time before the next baby is due that I can start on a dress for myself….

 unnamed unnamed2 unnamed3 unnamed4 unnamed5

Leave a Reply

