Sewaholic Renfrew

Renfrew

Apparently last week was my week to try my hand at t-shirts, because I finished a second one on Friday (I completed the Plantain on Tuesday). This time I used the Renfrew pattern by Sewaholic, my second Sewaholic pattern. I actually purchased the Renfrew pattern before I downloaded the Plantain pattern, but I felt like making the plantain first. The fabric I chose for my Renfrew is a polka dot ponte di roma knit from Girl Charlee. I initially bought it to try to make leggings out of, but quickly saw that it didn’t have enough stretch for that, but it seemed the perfect weight for this shirt. The fabric is very polyester-y and has a sheen and feel that I don’t love, but it did work well for this pattern and it was easy to sew.

I made view A, with View B sleeves (the scoop neck with short sleeves). I thought the pattern instructions were good and the construction wasn’t hard, it was basically the same as the Plantain except for the addition of the bands at the sleeves and hem. I sewed most of the shirt on my serger except for the stitching around the neckband, which I used my double needle for, and attaching the sleeve bands.Ā  Issues that I ran into while sewing this pattern were:

  1. My fabric was very much polyester and I may have burned a hole in the neckband when attempting to press a seam (at least I accidentally cut out 2 neckbands) – mental note, press synthetic fibers at a low temperature;
  2. I am definitely not quite accurate with my seam allowances on the serger as one sleeve is a bit of a tight fit and the other fits perfectly;
  3. I cut out the sleevebands for view A, but made view B so had to go back and cut out the correct sleevebands – mental note pay special attention to what pieces you should be cutting when you mix and match views; and
  4. I couldn’t figure out for the life of me how attach the sleeve band to the sleeve using my serger. Does anyone have any tips on how to sew something so small and round on the serger?
Burned neckband - my iron was way too hot for this cheap polyester

Burned neckband – my iron was way too hot for this cheap polyester

Excuse the bad selfie - I just wanted to snap a quick pic of the fit (and yeah I have a poufy high waist skirt under there so it's not that flattering)

Excuse the bad selfie – I just wanted to snap a quick pic of the fit (and yeah I have a poufy high waist skirt under there so it’s not that flattering)

I am already planning to make this pattern again with a nicer fabric, maybe with the cowl neck though.

I also went fabric shopping this weekend to look for baby fabric for my forthcoming nephew and scored some really cute fabric!

My fabric haul

My fabric haul

2 thoughts on “Sewaholic Renfrew

Leave a Reply

